Schools Menu

UIGC Short Courses

The department of Advanced Nursing Science is committed to developing quality nursing professionals through problem based, interdisciplinary teaching and learning, underpin by community engagement and research.

To be a leading provider of quality community based primary health care education for rural and regional development. To train and develop Nursing Professionals with appropriate skills relevant to needs of people through teaching, research, community participation and partnership, and produce health professionals capable of providing holistic and comprehensive Primary Health Care (PHC) at all levels for rural and developing communities in Southern Africa.

The department is involved in research in the following niche areas:

  • HIV/AIDS and TB
  • Mother and child
  • Indigenous knowledge
  • Sexual health
  • Departmental projects

Community engagement

Students are involved in CBE in the following areas:

  • Group 2009 – Nghezimani
  • Group 2008 – Xigalo
  • Group 2007 – Tshapasha
  • Group 2006 – Mhinga

The following Programmes are offered by the Department of Advanced Nursing Science:

Diploma in Nursing Science (Bridging Course) 2 years
Diploma in Psychiatric Nursing 1 year
BCur nursing Science (R425) 4 years
BCur Praxis Extensa (Post basic with 3 options) 3 years
BCur Honours (with 3 options) 1 year
Magister Curationis 2 years
Doctor Curationis 3 years

There are no publications available online at the moment.

The following is a list of staff members in the Department of Advanced Nursing Science:

Designation Name Contacts
(Head of Department) Prof. M. L Netshikweta Tel: +27 15 962 8239 Email:
  Dr M S Maputle Tel: +27 15 962 8125 Email:
  N J Ramakuela Tel: +27 15 962 8655 Email:
  LH Nemathaga Tel: +27 15 962 8015 Email:
  M Maluleke Tel: +27 15 962 8717 Email:
  PR Risenga Tel: +27 15 962 8622 Email:
  NH Shilubane Tel: +27 15 962 8393 Email:
  RT Lebese Tel: +27 15 962 8039 Email:
  D U Ramathuba Tel: +27 15 962 8039 Email: