Schools Menu


The department aims at developing Scientists who will be competent in sustainable Management of natural resources (i.e. Land, Forestry and wildlife), aware of environmental conservation and able to help communities use trees sustainably.

Below is a list of the modules offered by the department.

CODE NAME OF MODULE (Prerequisite in brackets)
FRT 2541: Forest ecology and tree identification
FRT 2542: Wood science(Prereq CHE 1540/CHE1623/CHE1624)
FRT 2641: Forestry engineering
FRT 3531: Silviculture
FRT 3541: Mensuration, inventory and harvesting
FRT 3641: Silviculture II(Prereq FRT 3531)
FRT 3642: Forest policy
FRT 4541: Agroforestry
FRT 4542: Forest conservation
FRT 4641: Forest engineering
FRT 4642: Community forestry
FRT 4081: Project and seminar presentation/Forest management plan

The information for this page is currently unavailable.

The following is a list of staff members in the Department of Forestry.

Designation Staff memeber Contact Details

Prof. R.E Ole-Meiludie

Tel: +27 15 962 8310

Mr. ST Mwihomeke


Mr. P. Munyanduki

Tel: +27 (015) 962 8847
Mobile: +27 74 664 3883