Schools Menu

Univen Newsletter

Overview

IInstitutional Planning and Quality Assurance have become matters of great importance for universities around the world. Planning and quality assurance are interrelated; and represent mutually reinforcing activities, which allow the institution to plan for and monitor its performance. This is crucial if the university has to achieve optimal use of available resources in conducting its core-business of teaching and learning, research and community engagement.

The directorate of Institutional Planning and Quality Assurance (IPQA) at the University of Venda (UNIVEN) was established in 2007. The Directorate is located within the office of the Vice-Chancellor and Principal, and it is divided into three distinct sections: Planning, Quality Assurance, and Management Information Systems.

Mandate

Essentially, the mandate of IPQA at UNIVEN is to play an advisory role to the Vice-Chancellor and Principal and also to facilitate institutional Planning and Quality Assurance policies and processes that drive decisions and actions aimed at achieving sustainable levels of effectiveness in teaching and learning, research and community engagement. In view of this mandate the Directorate identifies with the following vision and mission statements.

Vision

Institutional Planning and quality assurance will be the foundation and rationale for all decisions and actions aimed at realizing the core-business of the university.

Mission

The Directorate promotes plans and quality assurance policies and processes which drive decisions and actions of the university.

The following is a list of staff members in the Institutional Planning and Quality Assurance:

Designation Name Contacts
Director Prof. Thina Ngobeli
Tel: +27 15 962 8710
Fax: +27 15 962 8824
Email: nngobelit@univen.ac.za
thina.ngobeli@univen.ac.za
Head: Quality Assurance Mr Vakele E Nobongoza
Tel: +27 15 962 8705
Fax: +27 15 962 8824
Email: vakele.nobongoza@univen.ac.za
Emeritus Professor Prof. ELM Bayona
Tel: +27 15 962 8705
Fax: +27 15 962 8824
Email: ebayona@univen.ac.za
Institutional Planning Officer Mr Thagwana Emmanuel


Tel: +27 15 962 8740
Fax: +27 15 962 8824/8745
Email: emmanuel.thagwana@univen.ac.za
Institutional Planning Officer Mr Netshifhefhe Lufuno


Tel: +27 15 962 8740
Fax: +27 15 962 8824/8745
Email: Lufuno.netshifhefhe@univen.ac.za
Institutional Planning Officer Ms Mulelu Livhuwani
Tel: +27 15 962 8740
Fax: +27 15 962 8824/8745
Email: livhuwani.mulelu@univen.ac.za
Chief Admin Officer Mrs Angeline Singo
Tel: +27 15 962 8338
Fax: +27 15 962 8547
Email: angeline.singo@univen.ac.za
Executive Secretary Mrs Nelwamondo Mulalo Royal
Tel: +27 15 962 8515
Fax: +27 15 962 8824
Email: mulalon@univen.ac.za, IPQA@univen.ac.za
Management Information Systems Specialist Mr Alfred Mutanga

Tel: +27 15 962 8002
Fax: +27 15 962 8824
Email: alfred.mutanga@univen.ac.za