SouthAfricanRadio Astronomy Observatory Undergraduate and Honours Block Grants Programme

Call for Applications for 2020

SARAO will consider applications from university departments that propose to support undergraduate and/or honours students studying any of the following degrees:

  • Bachelor of Electronic Engineering.
  • Bachelor of Electrical and Electronic Engineering.
  • Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering.
  • Bachelor of Mechatronic Engineering.
  • Bachelor of Computer Engineering.
  • Bachelor of Science in Mathematics / Applied Mathematics and Physics.
  • Bachelor of Science in Physics and Electronics.
  • Bachelor of Science in Astronomy / Astrophysics and Physics.
  • Bachelor of Computer Science, with co-major in Mathematics / Applied Mathematics.
  • Bachelor of Science – Honours – Physics and Electronics / Astrophysics / Astronomy / Computer Science.
  • Bachelor of Science – Honours – NASSP (National Astrophysics and Space Programme).

 A SARAO Undergraduate and Honours Block Grant includes funds for undergraduate/honours bursaries, as well as student academic support and development.

Application forms are available at

Closingdateforapplications: 31 July 2019