Department of Mining and Environmental Geology

School of Environmental Sciences
About Us

The Department of Mining and Environmental Geology of University of Venda was established in 2000 in response to a challenge posed by the Limpopo Provincial Government to the two universities in the Province.  The Provincial Government observed that in spite of the fact that mining is one of the top economic nodes of the province; there is no training programme in mining in the two universities. In response to this challenge, University of Venda mandated the School of Environmental Sciences to develop a mining programme for the University.  The School responded in earnest and established the current Department of Mining and Environmental Geology (MEG).

The MEG department has therefore been a most successful and gratifying response to the challenge posed by the Limpopo Provincial Government in 1999.  Most importantly MEG is on course in contributing to the youths of the region by providing access to the mining profession, thus linking the youths with a profession that their fore-bearers patronized merely as unskilled mine workers.  In this context the MEG curricula has helped to advance the mission and vision of linking UNIVEN with the needs of its community.


To advance the community learning by engaging in scientific research; provide a high quality educational experience to students in a diverse learning environment; and partnership with communities to provide educational, technical and cultural support to increase their liveability.


To provide comprehensive, interdisciplinary curriculum with emphasis on effective exploitation of mineral resources and management of the environment through teaching and community-based research.

Admission requirements

There is a limited number of places and therefore meeting the minimum entry requirement does not guarantee a place. Selection will be based on a student’s M score (the sum of the points) obtained on the basis of results achieved in the matriculation a, Mathematics, Physical Science but excluding Life Orientation and Life Science).

Diploma in Mining Impact and Post-Mining Rehabilitation – NSC or 20-credits subjects


  • Doctor of Philosophy in Mining and Environmental Geology
  • Master of Earth Sciences in Mining and Environmental Geology (MESMEG)
  • Bachelor of Earth Sciences in Mining and Environmental Geology (BESMEG)
  • Bachelor of Earth Sciences in Mine Surveying (BESMIS)
  • Diploma in Mining Impact and Post-Mining Rehabilitation

The minimum admission requirement for the above-mentioned degree programme is as follows:

  • A Matriculation Certificate or Senior Certificate endorsed for university admission.
  • Mathematics and Physical Science – 60% and English 50%

Code MODULE TITLE Prerequisite(s)
MEG 1541 Introduction to geology
MEG 1542 Introduction to Mining and Mineral Economics
MEG 1641 Introduction to hydrogeology and soil science
MEG 1642 Introduction to the strength of materials and rock mechanics
2nd year (BESMEG)
MEG 2541 Sedimentology, Stratigraphy and Basin Analysis MEG 1541
MEG 2542 Mineralogy, Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology MEG 1642
MEG 2543 Geochemistry and Mineral Processing MEG 1542
MEG 2641 Introduction to photogeology and Remote sensing MEG 1641
MEG 2642 Introduction to GIS
MEG 2643 Introduction to Geomadicene
MEG 2644 Introduction to Surveying
MEG 2655 Mine Water Generation and South African Policies and Guidelines
3rd year (BESMEG)
MEG 3541 Economic Ecology and Mineral Resources of Southern Africa MEG 2542
MEG 3542 Environmental Geology and Rehabilitation MEG 2541
MEG 3543 Introduction to Geophysics MEG 2642
MEG 3544 Mine Development and Mining Operations MEG 2543
MEG 3547 Integrated Mine Water Management MEG 2645
MEG 3641 Exploration and Mining geology MEG 2542
MEG 3642 Geological Field Mapping
MEG 3643 Surface Mining and Mine Management
MEG 3644 Surface Surveying MEG 2644
MEG 3645 Geotechnical Engineering
MEG 3600 Industrial Attachment
MEG 3646 GIS and Map Production MEG 2642
MEG 3647 Geo-environment and Health MEG 2641
4th Year (BESMEG)
MEG 4541 Mineral Exploration and Advance Mineral Economics: MEG 4541 MEG 3541
MEG 4542 Exploration Geophysics :MEG 4542 MEG 3543
MEG 4543 Underground Mining MEG 3544
MEG 4544 Mine Safety and Health MEG 3647
MEG 4545 Engineering and Transport System MEG 3643
MEG 4546 Non-Entry Mining MEG 3645
MEG 4641 Hydrogeology MEG 3641
MEG 4642 Advanced Mine and Environmental Management MEG 3542
MEG 4644 Small-scale Mining
MEG 4647 Underground Mine Surveying MEG 3644
MEG 4990 Research Project and dissertation




MEG 5541 Mineral Exploration and Advance Mineral Economics MEG 3541
MEG 5542 Exploration Geophysics MEG 3543
MEG 5543 Underground Mining MEG 3543
MEG 5544 Mine Safety and Health MEG 3647
MEG 5545 Engineering and Transport System MEG 3643
MEG 5546 Non-Entry Mining MEG 3645
MEG 5641 Hydrogeology MEG 3641
MEG 5642 Advanced Mine and Environmental Management MEG 3542
MEG 5644 Small-scale Mining  
MEG 5647 Underground Mine Surveying MEG 3644
MEG 5990 Research Project and dissertation  
Since its establishment in 2000, the Department of Mining and Environmental Geology has made great strides in developing partnerships and collaborations with the mining industry, Government departments, non-governmental organizations and other universities both nationally and internationally.

Departmental initiatives include partnerships with:

  • Germany Academic Exchange Service (DAAD): Through this collaboration, some third year students visited four academic institutions in Germany (Technical University of Clausthal, Gottingen University, Technical University of Berlin, and Technical University of Freiberg). Currently we have collaboration with Technical University of Clausthal.
  • Water Research Commission of South Africa; We have received research funds for our Honours and Masters students, and mobility funds for participation in conferences.
  • University of Witwatersrand; We have several joint projects incorporating postgraduate students and co-supervision.
  • University of Cape Town; We have collaboration in teaching, research and co-supervision.
  • Many companies/mines provide mine visit and industrial attachment opportunities for our students. Below are just a few of these companies and mines: Gold Fields (Kloof Mine and Driefonten Mine), Venetia Diamond Mine, Kumba Resources (Tshikondeni Coal Mine and Grootegeluk Coal Mine), Impala Platinum (Rustenburg Operations) and many more
  • Department of Mineral Resources has supported the department in diverse ways. These include bursary scheme for top performing students and practical training/internship opportunities for our students.
  • South Africa/ Germany joint science and technology research cooperation – Giyani project.
  • Collaboration in research and staff/students exchange with the University of Applied Sciences Weihenstephan, Germany.
  • Collaborative research work with the Council for Geoscience –Giyani Project.

Collaborative research work with University of Virginia – Clay mining, pottery and water filter project at Ha-Mashamba Village in Limpopo Province. Three honours students are currently attached to the project.


Name: Ms Ndivhudzannyi Rembuluwani
Designation: Junior Lecturer (Five-Year Contract)

Name: Mr Ntiyiso Ally Mahlaule
Designation: Lecturer

Name: Dr Milton Obote Kataka
Designation: Senior Lecturer In Minning &

Name: Dr Lawrence Diko Makia
Designation: Prof/Asso Prof/Snr Lecturer

Name: Dr Francis Amponsah-Dacosta
Designation: Senior Lecturer

Name: Dr. Humbulani Mundalamo
Designation: Lecturer/Junior Lecturer

Name: Dr. Sphiwe Emmanuel Mhlongo
Designation: Lecturer/Junior Lecturer

Name: Mr Confidence Muzerengi
Designation: Part Time Lecturer Mining

Name: Mr Ndivhuwo Nemapate
Designation: Laboratory/Senor Lab Technician -8

Name: Ms Lindelani Tshilate
Designation: Lecturer

Skip to content