About Us


The Department of Forestry was established in 1998, with the first batch of students being registered in 1999. The Department, initially, was offering Bachelor of Science in Agriculture (Forestry Specialization) programme.

However, in 2019, the Department secured a full accreditation and now offers Bachelor of Science in Forestry, with the first batch of students being registered in 2020. The new programme aims at developing forest scientists who will be competent in sustainable management of forest resources, environmental conservation, forest operations, and entrepreneurial skills.

The Bachelor of Science in Forestry is a four year programme (AGBBFR) that covers a broad range of modules in Forestry, which include Ecology, Silviculture, Resources Assessments, Management, Health and Protection, Valuation and Investments, GIS & Spatial Analysis, Wood Processing & Utilization, Community Forestry and a six month Work Integrated Learning. Our graduates are globally relevant and leaders in their chosen careers.



The Bachelor of Science in Agriculture (Forestry Specialization).

The programme aims at developing scientists who will be competent in sustainable management of natural resources (land, forestry and wildlife), aware of environmental conservation and be able to help communities in sustainable use of forests and trees.
The programme covers a broad range of modules in agriculture (plant production, protection, propagation, breeding, soil science, and agricultural economics) and in forestry (forest ecology and conservation, wood products and utilization, silviculture and harvesting in natural and planted forests and community forestry. Upon completion, graduates can be employed in:

♦ Community forestry and agro-forestry initiatives;
♦ Conservation and ecotourism;
♦ Training, research and extension and planning in government departments and NGOs;
♦ Management of operations in commercial plantations and wood processing industries as well as engage in private entrepreneurship in forestry and/or wood processing.



Below is a list of the modules offered by the department.

FRT 2141:
Forest Ecology & Tree Identification
FRT 2144:
Forest Health & Protection I
FRT 2145:
Introduction to Forest Economics
FRT 2146:
GIS & Spatial Analysis in Forestry
FRT 2241:
Introduction to Forestry Engineering
FRT 2243:
Forestry Nursery Management & Propagation
FRT 2244:
Forest Valuation & Investments
FRT 3141:
Forest Management
FRT 3142:
FRT 3144:
Forest Resources Assessment
FRT 3242:
Forest Policy
FRT 3243:
Silviculture I
FRT 3244:
Forest Health & Protection II
FRT 3245:
Logging and Roads
FRT 3246:
Introduction to Forestry Extension
RME 3248:
Research Methodology
FRT 4081:
Project & Seminar Presentation
WIL 4182:
Six Months Work Integrated Learning
FRT 4241:
FRT 4242:
Community Forestry
FRT 4243:
Timber Transportation & Planning
FRT 4244:
Silviculture II
FRT 4245:
Forest Conservation

The following is a list of staff members in the Department of Forestry

Fetching URL failed: http-errorcode 404
Skip to content